You’ve done your homework and found the ideal ingredients for your supplement stacks. But have you thought about how these ingredients are being delivered to you? For a variety of reasons, capsules outperform tablets. Because empty gelcaps dissolve faster, the ingredients enter your system more quickly.
Capsules are also often bland and, for the most part, easy to take. Unfortunately, not all capsules are created equal. Gelatin capsules and vegetarian capsules are the two most common forms of capsules. Are you aware of the distinctions? Let’s take a precise look at these two capsule forms so you can decide which one is best for you.
Gelatin Based Capsules
Gelatin-based capsules are manufactured by boiling down hooves, bones, and connective tissues into a gel-like substance, chilling it, and then forming it into a capsule.
While this is a reasonably low-cost option, the main issue is that gelatin capsules are unstable when exposed to heat or humidity. Depending on the location you live, this could provide major storage issues for your supplements.
Furthermore, empty gelcaps are appropriate for utilizing powdered supplements but not when using liquid or gel supplements. Finally, some people just do not wish to consume these items, often because of religious beliefs or following a vegetarian diet.
Advantages of Gelatin Capsules
Capsules are often preferred over tablets by consumers. Capsules are typically easier to swallow. Furthermore, a clear capsule (as opposed to a colored capsule) provides physical transparency for its constituents, which customers frequently see as evidence of naturalness.
Furthermore, gelatin capsules are suitable for the majority of powdered formulations. Finally, empty gelcaps are inexpensive and come in a variety of colors and sizes to meet your specific requirements.
Disadvantages of Gelatin Capsules
Gelatin capsules come in a restricted number of set sizes, whereas tablets come in a wide range of forms and sizes. As a result, a single serving of a given product may fit in one tablet but require two capsules to contain the same contents.
Are Gelatin Capsules Bad for You?
Certainly not. Gelatin capsules are constructed of a protein that most people consume if they are not vegetarians. Gelatin capsules are safe to consume on a regular basis.
Vegetarian Based Capsules
This takes us to the second sort of capsule: vegetarian capsules. These capsules are made from cellulose, which is obtained naturally from plants. The vegetarian capsules provide a highly natural delivery strategy for the supplement ingredients while also allowing the contents to be delivered to the body quickly. Also, when you buy empty capsules, they are cheaper in price.
There are no specific constraints on what you can or cannot put in vegetarian capsules because they function well with powder, liquid, or gel. As a result, they are a highly adaptable alternative for production.
This capsule variety is likewise completely non-toxic and natural. Even when ingested in large quantities and over an extended period of time, it poses no damage to one’s health. Overall, if you want to be certain that you are only putting the greatest ingredients into your body, a vegetarian capsule is the way to go.
Advantages of Veggie Capsules
The most obvious benefit of veggie capsules than empty gelcaps is that they are suitable for vegetarians, making them a viable alternative to animal-sourced gelatin capsules. Otherwise, they provide the same benefits as gelatin capsules.
Disadvantages of Veggie Capsules
Veggie capsules suffer from the same drawbacks as gelatin capsules. Furthermore, because gelatin capsules are less expensive to produce, they are more widely utilized than vegetarian capsules.
Similarities Between Veggie and Gelatin Capsules
Gelatin and vegetable capsules provide the same purpose and can be used interchangeably in any composition. The only difference is whether or not there is a desire to make the finished product vegetarian-friendly.
Choosing the Right Supplement Capsule for Your Product
When it comes to selecting the correct capsule type for your dietary supplement product, there are several aspects to consider. That being said, for most supplements, two characteristics stand out above the rest and help you to buy empty capsules wisely.
When deciding between veggie and gelatin capsules, one of the most important elements to consider is who will advertise and sell your product. A growing number of people are looking for vegetarian and vegan foods and nutritional supplements in today’s more pro-veggie society.
Having said that, not every consumer actively seeks out vegetarian or vegan items. It all boils down to knowing who your clients are and what they want at the end of the day.
While both types of capsules have advantages, each has its own set of drawbacks. While both types of empty gelcaps function well with powdered formulations, neither is particularly well adapted to liquid formulations (although some veggie capsules can handle certain semi-solid and gel formulations).
In terms of formula-based constraints, your contract manufacturer or production specialist should have no trouble advising you on the optimal capsule type for your recipe.
Whether gelatin or vegetable-based, Capsules are well-received by customers and provide a feasible alternative as a dietary supplement dosage type. Certainly, you should think about whether your formulation is a good candidate for capsules and whether your customer is likely to favor a specific capsule type. Capsule USA can provide you with some direction in this regard. To buy empty capsules, you can switch out to our website anytime and scroll from the wide variety of products on our list.